Utah Wildlife Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I didnt draw a deer tag and for the first time in 23 years I will not be chasing a buck this fall. I think I will try and wash this difficult pill to swallow down with a WY antelope tag. I have zero experience with hunting in wyoming. Does anyone have some advice on a good unit to apply for that has good public access and decent odds of drawing? I really appreciate any info provided.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Don't have any info to help with Wyoming but I'm sure there will be some leftover deer tags in a few units if you just wanting the opportunity to get out in the hills with a tag in hand.

·
Registered
393 Posts
Do you have any points? and do you want to hunt a buck?

·
Registered
10,180 Posts
If you can secure permission for private lands, the units composed of mostly private lands are fairly easy to draw. I used to hunt private lands up around Gillette until they raised all the tag prices. Landowners up there were pretty easy to work with, the guy's property we hunted didnt hunt himself but he loved being out there so he pretty much drove us around in his truck and let us pick whatever we wanted to shoot. Fun times.

-DallanC

·
Registered
2,130 Posts