Utah Wildlife Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm now a resident of Wyoming and have 4 points in the general pool for deer, I usually hunt the currant Creek muzzleloader on a second choice tag. I'm wondering what the odds are of drawing a Zion rifle tag as a second choice. The first choice odds are 100%.

·
Super Moderator
9,666 Posts
Since the wildlife board didn't fix the loop hole it looks like it will be in effect for at least another year, so your chances should be good.

·
Registered
648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Good, as long as you don't draw your first choice.
Ill put in for the loophole unit for a first choice, hopefully draw the second and go with the loophole project until its fixed, then Ill just apply where my son wants to hunt. I think Ill buy his tag to hunt in Wyoming before I'll start at ground level in Utah again though.

·
1,666 Posts
You are going to close to drawing the NR portion of that first draw unit.

I actually like the "loop-hole", because it allows for people to hunt while waiting for the general season limited draw area Fish Lake 1000 lakes.

For Non Residents only the Henry Mountains, La Sal Dolares Triangle, and San Juan Elk Ridge give out less rifle tags than Fish Lake 1000 lakes unit does as General Season Rifle.

·
Registered
2,357 Posts
I've always heard grand stories about the mule deer hunting in other western states and how bad Utah sucks compared to them. I could see applying as a non-res from California or something though. It just seems like applying for mule deer hunts as a Wyoming resident (an allegedly superior mule deer state) is backwards. But if you have good mule deer spots in Utah, why not?

·
1,666 Posts